The Return of Talking Time

Go Back   The Return of Talking Time > Talking about media > Talking about television games

Old 04-17-2012, 08:44 AM
Game Developer

Default My upcoming "Metroidvania" indie game, Axiom Verge

Hello talking time people, my name is Tom Happ; I'm a game developer at Petroglyph Games, but in my spare time I've started developing my own indie game, Axiom Verge, that I hope to release for XBLIG and PC sometime next year.

Here's the trailer for your youtubing pleasure:
http://youtu.be/9FNZTmLwm7I

And my site: http://www.axiomverge.com

And a random screenshot:

Comments and criticism are welcome!

Thanks,
Tom
Old 04-17-2012, 08:53 AM
:O

It looks neat! My only thought is more of a marketing one. There's a few moments in the video where the beat of the music is aaaalmost synced to the action of the main character. It's a little jarring!
Old 04-17-2012, 09:06 AM
Game Developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin View Post
It looks neat! My only thought is more of a marketing one. There's a few moments in the video where the beat of the music is aaaalmost synced to the action of the main character. It's a little jarring!
Ah, yeah, I did my best, but I gotta say - it's really hard to make captures and get them to line up! Some of these I had to play over and over just to get what I thought would be an ordinary shot. The thing is, I believe it breaks the youtube link if I try to update it, so it's kind of permanent, now.
Old 04-17-2012, 09:17 AM
World of Darkness Returns

The main character seems rather tiny, but otherwise I'm really impressed. Its rare to see spritework of that quality out of an XBLIG.
Old 04-17-2012, 09:26 AM
I. Love. It.

This seems less like a Metroidvania and more like a Controid, but either way it looks pretty sweet. I don't have an XBox, but I don't think it'd be hard to convince me to pick up the PC version.
Old 04-17-2012, 09:40 AM
:O

Quote:
Originally Posted by AxiomVerge View Post