The Return of Talking Time

Go Back   The Return of Talking Time > Talking about media > Talking about television games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-22-2009, 10:30 AM
benjibot's Avatar
benjibot benjibot is offline
Super Nerd
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The fictional city of Chicago
Posts: 2,016
Default

The only thing I've had die on me is my GameCube. Right in the middle of my Animal Crossing obsession. I missed most of the Halloween buildup. It probably just needed the laser realigned. But I didn't know that at the time.

It was still in warranty when it happened. Ever since, no problems. Even my old Zelda carts still save games. The only cart that doesn't is Super Mario All-Stars which randomly deletes everything.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-22-2009, 10:48 AM
Mommi's Avatar
Mommi Mommi is online now
Gynarchy in the USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Posts: 7,802
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Osirus128 View Post
Has anyone else had the PS3 freezing thing happen to them, is it cause for concern?
Twice it has frozen on a blank screen when choosing to exit a disc-based game from the in-game XMB, randomly, it was non-consecutive, and it has been fine since. It beeps once when this happens. It seems like the machine has some worrying quirks, but hopefully that's all they are. Kind of like how PCs kind of have their own little personality, maybe that's just the way complex machines are.

Super Nintendos are simply amazing on the other hand.
My well-loved FFIII cartridge is completely non-functional though. The save battery had died, and I didn't put it in the machine for a few years, but now theres nothing. Not like a 35 hour game with no way to save is any good anyhow.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-22-2009, 10:56 AM
alexb's Avatar
alexb alexb is offline
Wretched Fellow
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16,090
Default

Probably firmware issues. My PS3 fat did that occassionally back in the earlier days. Presumably stability will continue to improve with firmware updates.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-22-2009, 11:59 AM
Sven's Avatar
Sven Sven is offline
For Great Apollo Justice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 21,019
Default

Yeah, I've had freezes in certain PS3 games, but nothing endemic.

Worst hardware conflict I ever had was when my N64 seemingly wouldn't play more than two holes of Mario Golf without crashing. Turns out I'd left the memory expansion in and it REALLY didn't like that.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-22-2009, 05:50 PM
Bongo's Avatar
Bongo Bongo is online now
oh my car
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado Land
Pronouns: he/him
Posts: 21,869
Default

This past week I discovered that my SNES, which had been in storage for like two years, has finally died.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-22-2009, 06:52 PM
McClain's Avatar
McClain McClain is offline
bad at lurking
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta-ish
Pronouns: He him
Posts: 27,593
Default

I forgot about my Gamecube crashing. It happened a couple of times on really long plays. I remember I played Wind Waker for a couple hours one day, and I got all the way through the plant-themed dungeon, and it got locked up on Link's celebration after I beat the boss. Didn't just, he just kept jumping up and down. I lost a ton of progress and almost cried.

Metroid Prime was bad about freezing for real on me. But it always worked fine after.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-22-2009, 08:10 PM
MetManMas's Avatar
MetManMas MetManMas is online now
Come, noble knights!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Posts: 21,553
Default

@McClain142: Metroid Prime's freezing issues were actually a common problem with the game itself, particularly at elevators. That buzzing when it froze was so annoying.

Speaking of Cube game issues, Sonic Adventure 2: Battle always loved to throw me into the disc read error screen when I least expected it. I'm pretty sure it was a problem with the game itself, because I had the same problem when I picked it up again when it hit Player's Choice.

As for other technical issues, my DS Lite has one of its sound channels in its left speaker messed up*, omitting certain bit of audio when I'm not using headphones or playing something with a mono option. I also had one of those early PS2s that had its DVD-ROM laser turn to shit after a couple of years, starting right around Kingdom Hearts.

*Off-topic, but if anybody knows of any speakers that plug into a headphone jack which aren't utter crap, I'd appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-22-2009, 11:12 PM
Thraeg's Avatar
Thraeg Thraeg is offline
Mad Overlord
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metal Man Master View Post
*Off-topic, but if anybody knows of any speakers that plug into a headphone jack which aren't utter crap, I'd appreciate it.
Just about any PC speakers will plug into a headphone jack. But to get any passable sound quality, you'll also need to plug them in to a power source. The little bit of power that can pass through the headphone jack is just not enough to get at all tolerable sound quality and volume.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-22-2009, 11:49 PM
Zef's Avatar
Zef Zef is offline
Find Your Reason
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Vortex World
Posts: 31,055
Default

To put Nintendo hardware failures in perspective, there's the legendary Desert Storm GameBoy at display at the Nintendo World Store in NYC:



My NES and SNES still work, too, though some games (like Ninja Gaiden II and the original Final Fantasy) need a bit of jiggling and fussing over. I can't believe my NES is nearly 20 years old!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-23-2009, 12:30 AM
Mightyblue's Avatar
Mightyblue Mightyblue is offline
Are You Sure About That?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I am a Mountain Man, in a mountain land
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Posts: 23,178
Default

That brick looks like it got fished out of an exploding tank. Or hurled out of an exploding tank.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 09-23-2009, 12:34 AM
Eusis's Avatar
Eusis Eusis is offline
Loves to overthink.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Pronouns: she/her/they/them
Posts: 9,357
Default

My GameCube also got run over and, last I checked, ran just fine. Admittedly "Last time I checked" was in 2006 before the Wii rendered it completely obsolete, but still.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 09-23-2009, 12:45 AM
Wolfgang's Avatar
Wolfgang Wolfgang is offline
borgn
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fooboomagoo
Posts: 28,106
Default

I've seen that GameBoy! Not only does it still work, but it works after running all day, every day, on display at the store for years.

Y'all are computer jinxes, either that or you mistreat your stuff horribly and don't realize it. The story of my lightning'd Macbook is world famous by now, but that only burned out the monitor port, the rest of the machine worked fine. THAT'S build quality!

The only pieces of major hardware that's ever jes' up an' died on me was a flatscreen monitor this past summer that I owned for like six months, but it was a cheap piece of crap Acer I got for like $130. My previous scanner died after a few years of use, which stung, because it was excellent. My launch SNES was getting buggity on me the summer before last, but before it outright died I sold it at my moving sale. I hadn't really used it since I downloaded all the games I had for it on VC anyway. My first (refurb) Dreamcast worked, but I had to return it anyway due to it disgorging roaches.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 09-23-2009, 01:02 AM
benjibot's Avatar
benjibot benjibot is offline
Super Nerd
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The fictional city of Chicago
Posts: 2,016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metal Man Master View Post
*Off-topic, but if anybody knows of any speakers that plug into a headphone jack which aren't utter crap, I'd appreciate it.
I can't imagine why you'd want any speakers but these. Providing you can find them, of course.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 09-23-2009, 01:51 AM
Merus Merus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15,325
Default

I have heard similar stories regarding the hardiness of the Game Boy Advance. Nintendo's portables have been notoriously resilient - I recall seeing one test in a local magazine that put several hand-held devices, including the GBA as kind of the joke entry, and it was the only one to survive their gauntlet, which included being run over by a car. In the end, they shotgunned it in the face, and it still turned on.

Meanwhile, my 360 is physically incapable of playing Halo 3, and I don't know why. It plays everything fine, it's just Halo 3.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 09-23-2009, 02:08 AM
Eusis's Avatar
Eusis Eusis is offline
Loves to overthink.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Pronouns: she/her/they/them
Posts: 9,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merus View Post
I recall seeing one test in a local magazine that put several hand-held devices, including the GBA as kind of the joke entry, and it was the only one to survive their gauntlet, which included being run over by a car.
Nintendo: The only ones to develop car-proof consoles!
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 09-23-2009, 04:09 AM
Merus Merus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eusis View Post
Nintendo: The only ones to develop car-proof consoles!
The tone of the article was very much "holy shit wtf" which is why they got out the shotgun. They didn't know how else to break the thing.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 09-23-2009, 09:12 AM
benjibot's Avatar
benjibot benjibot is offline
Super Nerd
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The fictional city of Chicago
Posts: 2,016
Default

My DS lite hinge finally cracked a few months ago. Uhh. Grr?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 09-23-2009, 09:18 AM
Sven's Avatar
Sven Sven is offline
For Great Apollo Justice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 21,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mightyblue View Post
That brick looks like it got fished out of an exploding tank. Or hurled out of an exploding tank.
If memory serves, that's pretty much what happened to it (either that or a barracks getting blown up).
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 09-23-2009, 09:37 AM
alexb's Avatar
alexb alexb is offline
Wretched Fellow
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merus View Post
Meanwhile, my 360 is physically incapable of playing Halo 3, and I don't know why. It plays everything fine, it's just Halo 3.
There was something very specific about how Halo 3 managed its data, I think. Like it was constantly caching stuff to the HD or something. If your drive's laser is sort of not working and not reading things the first or second time, maybe it's causing the whole house of cards to come crashing down?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 09-23-2009, 09:41 AM
MetManMas's Avatar
MetManMas MetManMas is online now
Come, noble knights!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Posts: 21,553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjibot View Post
I can't imagine why you'd want any speakers but these. Providing you can find them, of course.
Putting a Slime on my DS Lite would be pretty rockin'. As for why I'd want speakers, there's times when I want to play a game without muting out the TV, but I'm too nitpicky to play something without a mono setting when going au naturalé (i.e. no headphones) because that missing bit of audio just sounds so wrong. I know I could always mute it, but I like video game music.

I've got no shortage of headphones, though. My best sounding ones are a pair of Sony earbuds and Maxell folding earphones (the latter having volume control), and I also have a pair of Koss headphones (also with VC) and one of those DS microphones (mono, but works well.)
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 09-23-2009, 10:10 AM
benjibot's Avatar
benjibot benjibot is offline
Super Nerd
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The fictional city of Chicago
Posts: 2,016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metal Man Master View Post
... one of those DS microphones (mono, but works well.)
I've thought about getting one of these. I remember seeing one under the tree at my wife's cousins place last xmas. Is this why you always show up as "not available for voice chat" on trades? I never see this when I trade with Lucas.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 09-23-2009, 10:16 AM
Calorie Mate's Avatar
Calorie Mate Calorie Mate is offline
A No.1
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: East
Posts: 20,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merus View Post
The tone of the article was very much "holy shit wtf" which is why they got out the shotgun. They didn't know how else to break the thing.
I remember some awful TV show (the Man Show, maybe?) had a segment to see how many hits an object could take from a sledgehammer wielded by a midget or something. They brought out a Nintendo 64, everyone laughed expecting it to crack in one hit, and the crowd sort of stopped when there was a dull thud and the sledgehammer bounced off it without putting so much as a dent in the thing. It was great.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 09-23-2009, 10:22 AM
Nicholai's Avatar
Nicholai Nicholai is offline
I like Starman.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 2,561
Default

I have every console from the NES onward with the exception of the 360 and Wii (though several of them I bought recently) and everyone still works. My PSP works fine, though I'd like to upgrade from the 1000 model, and my DS Lite has an iffy trigger button.

My SNES, N64, PSX, Dreamcast, and PS2 are all from just after launch and still work just fine. My NES was lost in the early 90s and I later replaced it with one that is still working. My PS3 freezes occasionally, but I'm sure that it is just a software/firmware problem and not a physical problem. The only thing I've ever had a lot of problems with physical failures is my PC which had its RAM, video card, and processor all die at some point since I originally bought the machine. Now the PC seems to be failing again.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 09-23-2009, 10:40 AM
Merus Merus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexb View Post
There was something very specific about how Halo 3 managed its data, I think. Like it was constantly caching stuff to the HD or something. If your drive's laser is sort of not working and not reading things the first or second time, maybe it's causing the whole house of cards to come crashing down?
The symptoms I'm getting is that the game will, during gameplay (either single or multi), freeze up within about a minute. It happens at all different points - I've had it freeze up anywhere from the opening cinema to a couple of rooms into the game, and the freeze is very characteristic of a disk read error - graphics seize up immediately, sound continues for a few seconds.

In short, I think you're onto something. You think there's any way to fix it without making a support call and getting slugged the repair fee?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 09-23-2009, 11:21 AM
Vega's Avatar
Vega Vega is offline
Tiger, Tiger, muddy dark
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Space Coast, FL
Posts: 3,657
Default

I've owned about a dozen consoles and for the most part they've held up well. I held off buying an Xbox 360 until this June to maximize my chance of getting a good one. It's a 12.1A model, which I think is a Jasper.

But damn its wireless network adapter! I was insulted by the $100 price tag, so first I bought a cheap Linksys router and tried to hack it into a bridge adapter with DD-WRT, but after a week of forum digging, firmware flashing and menu fiddling, I couldn't quite get it to work. So I sold it and bought a used Xbox 360 WNA for $65 that broke after a month. No warranty, so I guess I have to get another one. Am I supposed to be happy that Amazon now sells new WNAs for "only" $75? My Wii and Roku Netflix Player cost less than an Xbox 360 and they have WiFi built in! How the hell does Microsoft think it's a good idea to rip off the customer on WiFi when Xbox 360 is the most online dependent console on the market!?

After this incident, I'm probably never going to buy an Xbox 360 game, only rent, just to minimize the money Microsoft gets from me from now on, and also to minimize the desire to replace my Xbox 360 once it's past warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09-23-2009, 11:33 AM
alexb's Avatar
alexb alexb is offline
Wretched Fellow
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merus View Post
In short, I think you're onto something. You think there's any way to fix it without making a support call and getting slugged the repair fee?
Maybe your drive needs a new lens or something? I guess you could take it apart, find out what kind yours used and then see about getting another Xbox 360 drive or at least another standard DVD drive you could successfully canabalize? I don't a lot about that stuff. I guess you could try that. You're going to have to get a new one anyway, right?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 09-23-2009, 11:33 AM
ArugulaZ's Avatar
ArugulaZ ArugulaZ is offline
Back to the Bear
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12,836
Default

My understanding is that the router for the original Xbox will work with the Xbox 360. And yes, the router designed especially for the Xbox 360 is stupidly overpriced. Even the friggin' Wii has that capability built into it... what's Microsoft's excuse?

Evidently they're releasing a new 802.11n router for the Xbox 360... hopefully that will drop the price of the old router to the thirty dollars it SHOULD have been sold for in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09-23-2009, 12:00 PM
Merus Merus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15,325
Default

I'm told there's nothing special about the branded Microsoft adapter, and any wireless bridge, or a wireless router that can be set to bridge mode because for some reason bridges are expensive, will work. This requires configuration on your part, but then so does a wireless network unless you want your neighbours to set up torrents for horse porn.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09-23-2009, 12:06 PM
Sven's Avatar
Sven Sven is offline
For Great Apollo Justice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 21,019
Default

Quote:
Even the friggin' Wii has that capability built into it... what's Microsoft's excuse?
I think the line was that wireless use took off between the 360's release and the other two's, but that's about as bullshit an excuse as you can get.

Quote:
but then so does a wireless network unless you want your neighbours to set up torrents for horse porn.
Doesn't every wireless router on the market come pre-equipped with a randomized password these days? Configuration isn't really necessary anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 09-23-2009, 12:10 PM
MetManMas's Avatar
MetManMas MetManMas is online now
Come, noble knights!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Posts: 21,553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjibot View Post
I've thought about getting one of these. I remember seeing one under the tree at my wife's cousins place last xmas. Is this why you always show up as "not available for voice chat" on trades? I never see this when I trade with Lucas.
Nah, my microphone works fine. I just prefer disabling voice chat with the X button in the later hours or when trading. I don't mind using it in battle, though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
griping , hardware , tech support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Your posts ©you, 2007