The Return of Talking Time

Go Back   The Return of Talking Time > Talking about media > Talking about television games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 09-12-2016, 08:01 PM
dhawks's Avatar
dhawks dhawks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 509
Default

My Framemeister and SCART cable arrived today.



I underestimated the degree of difficulty in configuring this little bad boy. I followed an online tutorial to a point, and so far I'm impressed with the difference in display quality.

For any of you who have Framemeisters, how did you get your settings dialed in? Trial and error?
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 09-12-2016, 08:21 PM
Mr. Sensible's Avatar
Mr. Sensible Mr. Sensible is offline
Spear of Justice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA/TN
Posts: 5,175
Default

I mostly followed the recommended settings from the Framemeister wiki on Junkerhq.net. Personally I prefer the xRGB's "Sharpness" setting at 1 instead of 0 for 240p sources like the SNES. You should also enable Game Mode on your television if possible, which will reduce lag and allow your new external upscaler to handle all the video processing.

One nice feature is that the Framemeister keeps track of different settings based on the source type, meaning you can switch between 240p and 480i/p video sources without needing to manually reconfigure your upscaler's settings every time.

And here's a review of the Framemeister that includes a diagram of the remote with English notations.

Last edited by Mr. Sensible; 09-12-2016 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 09-12-2016, 10:21 PM
dhawks's Avatar
dhawks dhawks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 509
Default

Thanks! That Wiki was super helpful. Changing the menu from Japanese to English made things so much easier!

I followed the settings on this page:
http://www.firebrandx.com/snesprofiles.html

and it looks pretty darn nice. I also prefer setting the Sharpness to 1.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 09-13-2016, 05:29 AM
Parish's Avatar
Parish Parish is offline
Your life is forfeit
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rally, Nerf Cackolacka
Posts: 11,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhawks View Post
My Framemeister and SCART cable arrived today.



I underestimated the degree of difficulty in configuring this little bad boy. I followed an online tutorial to a point, and so far I'm impressed with the difference in display quality.

For any of you who have Framemeisters, how did you get your settings dialed in? Trial and error?
What are you doing to those records, son?

The JunkerHQ FAQ is definitely the best resource for setting that up. I don't envy you the journey you've just begun. I began my own more than two years ago, and it's finally coming to an end. It has involved an investment of many, many thousands of dollars (even with generous people donating materials) and a whole lot of trial-and-error.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 09-14-2016, 02:51 PM
Mr. Sensible's Avatar
Mr. Sensible Mr. Sensible is offline
Spear of Justice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA/TN
Posts: 5,175
Default

Welp. I bought a Dreamcast, a Toro box and another SCART cable today because I want to see Shenmue's smeary textures in the GREATEST POSSIBLE DETAIL
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 09-15-2016, 12:57 AM
madhair60's Avatar
madhair60 madhair60 is offline
linktr.ee/stuartgipp
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 15,277
Default

Nowadays, when I play a classic game, I tend to do it on the Wii using one of its many excellent emulators. I don't know how accurate they are, all I know is that playing those games on a TV just feels right. Games look good through Wii with component cables, retro stuff just seems to pop. I don't have a CRT so there aren't any nice scanlines but it's still my favoured way to play the classics.

I have this painstaking Retroarch setup too but I almost never use it, go figure
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 09-16-2016, 03:45 PM
balder the brave's Avatar
balder the brave balder the brave is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 973
Default

I bought a Sega Genesis component cable from HD Retrovision. I'm pretty excited about it. I just tested Castlevania: Bloodlines and MUSHA (reproduction cart ) and they look great on my ordinary LED TV. I've played retro games through RCA cables for years and this is a world of difference. The pixels are pretty sharp even going straight into the TV.

Maybe not as good as a Framemeister but a great option for $50.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 09-18-2016, 09:01 AM
McClain's Avatar
McClain McClain is offline
bad at lurking
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta-ish
Pronouns: He him
Posts: 27,593
Default

Help!

I'm looking for a cheap (i.e., not a framemeister) option to convert the 240p signal from the SNES component cables to HDMI.

The goal here is to be able to play on my nice CRT and stream via my elgato at the same time. Unfortunately, the elgato doesn't play nice with 240p, and most converters I'm seeing only go down to 480 or are massively expensive. It might turn out to not be an option at all to do anything other than play/stream off of composite (which seems to work fine), but I really want to use the nicer cables.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-06-2016, 03:28 PM
Mr. Sensible's Avatar
Mr. Sensible Mr. Sensible is offline
Spear of Justice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA/TN
Posts: 5,175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Sensible View Post
Welp. I bought a Dreamcast, a Toro box and another SCART cable today because I want to see Shenmue's smeary textures in the GREATEST POSSIBLE DETAIL
The Toro arrived!





I've got the Toro plugged into my Framemeister, so this is pretty much the best picture I can get out of a Dreamcast without buying an expensive studio CRT and a VGA box. The photos don't really do it justice; this image is SPOOKY-sharp.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-10-2016, 04:39 AM
Meditative_Zebra's Avatar
Meditative_Zebra Meditative_Zebra is offline
Trinitron Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Halcyon Idyll
Posts: 6,667
Default

I've been holding on to one of those fancy old Sony Wega TVs for years thinking that it would be nice to have around to use with the SNES, etc. I finally got the thing out of storage last night and hooked it up. Ye gods, I'd forgotten how mother-loving much those old tube TVs weigh. I just looked in the manual and my 24" Trinitron weighs 72 lbs. Whereas my 40" HDTV weighs less than 20 lbs. That's reason enough alone to thank the heavens for HDTVs; they won't make you throw your back out!
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 10-10-2016, 10:55 AM
Mr. Sensible's Avatar
Mr. Sensible Mr. Sensible is offline
Spear of Justice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA/TN
Posts: 5,175
Default

I kinda miss my cheap old Sanyo 24" CRT, but the sheer size and weight of the thing was too cumbersome to justify keeping around. Also it wasn't a great set to begin with; it had this weird defect that caused it to lose vertical hold for a half-second whenever the screen flashed bright white, which was pretty annoying to deal with in certain games.

So how's your WEGA looking these days? Really nice, I'll bet!
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 10-10-2016, 11:47 AM
Meditative_Zebra's Avatar
Meditative_Zebra Meditative_Zebra is offline
Trinitron Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Halcyon Idyll
Posts: 6,667
Default

The N64 looks as smudgy as it always has!
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 10-10-2016, 12:04 PM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,215
Default

I've got a 32" one. It takes two people to move.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 10-10-2016, 12:20 PM
Meditative_Zebra's Avatar
Meditative_Zebra Meditative_Zebra is offline
Trinitron Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Halcyon Idyll
Posts: 6,667
Default

Some of those old TVs you practically need a forklift. A 36" Sony Wega is a 238.5lbs high definition behemoth!
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 10-10-2016, 12:27 PM
Lukyn's Avatar
Lukyn Lukyn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meditative_Zebra View Post
Some of those old TVs you practically need a forklift. A 36" Sony Wega is a 238.5lbs high definition behemoth!
I've got one in my parents' garage. I want to bring it to my apartment but I'm in a second story walkup and I've had several friends tell me they won't help me move it again.

That TV is amazing though. I don't ever want to get rid of it.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 10-10-2016, 02:16 PM
Trar Trar is offline
пик Б
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: East Grestin
Posts: 1,884
Default

This thread must not end until someone posts a photograph of Spacewar or Colossal Cave Adventure on a disgustingly large HDTV
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 10-10-2016, 08:45 PM
muteKi's Avatar
muteKi muteKi is offline
O tempora! O morays!
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Green chile cheeseburger capital of the world
Pronouns: they're more hobbyist nouns tbh
Posts: 14,083
Default

I love my dinky ass RCA CRT. It does the job just fine, even if it's only like a 7" screen. Works well enough for Yoshi's Island. Color is pretty good too.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 11-28-2016, 08:13 AM
Mr. Sensible's Avatar
Mr. Sensible Mr. Sensible is offline
Spear of Justice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA/TN
Posts: 5,175
Default

Ordered an SD2SNES at 20% off during Krikzz's Black Friday sale. Looks like the sale's still going in case anyone wants to get in on it.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 12-09-2016, 10:17 AM
balder the brave's Avatar
balder the brave balder the brave is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 973
Default

I set up my new RetroUSB AVS this week. I'm happy with my purchase so far. Played a few old favorites and they all feel great! I plugged in original NES controllers. I don't feel noticeable lag. Inserting the cartridges feels good. Minor gripes:

- Only the third game I tried out (Gradius II) has compatibility problems that make the game unplayable. I googled it and supposedly it's fixed with a firmware update, but this was a little disappointing to me.

- The palette looks darker than I'm used to. The reds are darkish red. Maybe this is a deliberate choice to mimic the CRT experience but I think I prefer the bright colors of an emulator. Anyone else have thoughts on the palette?
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 12-14-2016, 07:02 PM
balder the brave's Avatar
balder the brave balder the brave is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 973
Default

I updated the firmware to beta version 1.206 and it's a big improvement. Gradius II works like a charm and the video options include about 6 color palettes. At least one of them has brighter colors than the default, and looks good enough to me. I've been playing more NES / FAM than I have in a couple years.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 12-14-2016, 08:28 PM
McClain's Avatar
McClain McClain is offline
bad at lurking
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta-ish
Pronouns: He him
Posts: 27,593
Default

I really want an AVS but I just can't justify $200 for a fancy NES right now.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 12-14-2016, 10:26 PM
Yimothy's Avatar
Yimothy Yimothy is offline
Meal break
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Pronouns: He/Him
Posts: 2,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trar View Post
This thread must not end until someone posts a photograph of Spacewar or Colossal Cave Adventure on a disgustingly large HDTV
This isn't quite that vintage but here's 1981's Astrosmash for Intellivision on a 50 inch.



Not exactly hi fi. I didn't have the right cable and the one I used fit loosely, which might account for the fuzziness
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 12-15-2016, 02:16 AM
LBD_Nytetrayn's Avatar
LBD_Nytetrayn LBD_Nytetrayn is offline
..and his little cat, too
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 9,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yimothy View Post
This isn't quite that vintage but here's 1981's Astrosmash for Intellivision on a 50 inch.



Not exactly hi fi. I didn't have the right cable and the one I used fit loosely, which might account for the fuzziness
I'm not the only one who sees the face, right?

I'd be afraid, but it kind of looks too dorky to fear.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 12-15-2016, 06:05 AM
Parish's Avatar
Parish Parish is offline
Your life is forfeit
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rally, Nerf Cackolacka
Posts: 11,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McClain View Post
I really want an AVS but I just can't justify $200 for a fancy NES right now.
It's super worth it, though.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 12-15-2016, 09:48 AM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
hidden in snow
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Up in the air
Posts: 3,116
Default

I'm on the fence between sending off my top-loader to get my botched Hi-Def NES mod fixed, or grabbing an AVS and be done.

Anyone know if the NES Satellite works with the AVS, or a top loader for that matter? It's been working great with our front loader, except when the toddler runs in front of the TV. I know the AVS supports some wireless controllers, but I want to use these great dogbones.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 12-18-2016, 07:46 AM
Mr. Sensible's Avatar
Mr. Sensible Mr. Sensible is offline
Spear of Justice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA/TN
Posts: 5,175
Default

These guys have been posting on Youtube for a while now, but just in case anyone hasn't seen My Life in Gaming, be sure to check out their excellent "RGB Master Class" video series, which breaks down different options for squeezing the best picture out of your crusty old hardware.

Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 12-18-2016, 09:25 AM
MetManMas's Avatar
MetManMas MetManMas is online now
I hunt Mondays.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Posts: 21,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Sensible View Post
Okay, where's the cheat device you unlocked Pots with? Between the crappy camera, camping enemies, shoddy collision detection for grinding, too short time limits, lack of ways to easily gain momentum, the occasional "fuck you" jump replay that will almost certainly ruin your landing, and no easy way to replay stages at your own leisure, I find it a little hard to believe you got all the Jet ranks necessary to unlock him.

That said, it's awesome if you managed to do it legit.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 12-18-2016, 01:36 PM
Mr. Sensible's Avatar
Mr. Sensible Mr. Sensible is offline
Spear of Justice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA/TN
Posts: 5,175
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetManMas View Post
That said, it's awesome if you managed to do it legit.
Rock 'n Roll Grind and Benten Burning were probably the biggest pains in the ass to Jet rank. I must have replayed both levels at least twenty or thirty times.

And thanks! I can honestly say unlocking Pots on a real Dreamcast was one of my proudest achievements of 2016.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:30 AM
Mr. Sensible's Avatar
Mr. Sensible Mr. Sensible is offline
Spear of Justice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA/TN
Posts: 5,175
Default

Finally got around to updating my Framemeister's firmware last night to version 2.03, which added some fun new options like configuration profiles that can be saved and loaded from a microSD card. I also downloaded a pack of pre-made custom xRGBmini profiles for use with NTSC 1080p displays; they've been incredibly useful for configuring the Framemeister's output for different consoles while maintaining sharp integer-based scaling whenever possible.

At first I was certain I'd only be using the 4x scale profiles with 240p sources because I hate cropping the image at all, but 5x is also very nice. I can now see the appeal of filling up most of the screen with delicious pixels, and I'm only missing four vertical lines from the top and bottom of the image, so it's hardly a dealbreaker with the majority of NES/SNES titles.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 12-19-2016, 08:49 AM
ThornGhost's Avatar
ThornGhost ThornGhost is offline
That bug is NUTS!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Pronouns: he/him
Posts: 4,688
Default

Can someone please explain to me the way to get the best picture out of the Genesis on a CRT? I have a Model 1 "High Definition Graphics" unit, but I'm confused where to go beyond there. Is the unit natively compatible with component or S-Video? SCART? My WEGA has the component and S-Video, but not SCART.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hardware , retro games

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Your posts İyou, 2007