The Return of Talking Time

Go Back   The Return of Talking Time > Talking about media > Talking about television games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #301  
Old 02-11-2019, 09:09 AM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludendorkk View Post
This is a genuinely shocking revelation, haha
DC is not a space-friendly place to live, and I just couldn't justify trying to find room for a CRT. But I need that sweet, sweet lightgun action, so I'll be on the lookout soon!
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 02-15-2019, 07:06 AM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

Bob from RetroRGB has a video up on all the various and sundry options for getting high-quality visuals from all the various and sundry configurations of the PC Engine/TurboGrafx.

Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 02-15-2019, 11:44 AM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,431
Default

I'm happy to see there are so many solutions for the PC Engine line. I can't really use any of these, since I've got a Duo, but I did buy mine pre-modded for S-Video (not RGB, though). It looks pretty good, though. I do wish I'd gone with a Duo-R/RX, though, since my CD drive is pretty finicky with burned media. It works gorgeously with legit discs, though; I imported The Legend of Xanadu 1 & 2 for when the fan translation eventually drops.
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 02-15-2019, 02:00 PM
MCBanjoMike's Avatar
MCBanjoMike MCBanjoMike is offline
Sudden chomper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 16,636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeWell View Post
I don't have a CRT, but, uh... the additional space in my new digs means I will begin thrifting for one as soon as we move.
I've got one you can have, just gotta swing through Montreal on your way to Tennessee...

Speaking of high-fidelity classic gaming, or at least medium-fidelity, I finally got a set of S-Video cables for my SNES! And also GameCube I guess. They're a pretty cheap set, but I can definitely see a difference using them. Pixels are more clearly defined and colors are less swimmy than they were before. This is my original Super Nintendo from the 90s and it's been through a lot with me, so it feels good to treat it right.
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 02-15-2019, 02:44 PM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

That seems out of the way, Mike. I'd say something about shipping it, but given the double whammy of normal shipping from Canada and the weight of the average CRT... I'll pass.

Also, yeah, s-video is often said to be the biggest step up in quality (SNES does do RGB, though the signal is still noisy). I'm on s-video for N64, because that's as good as it gets without a mod, and with the help of my Framemeister, it looks surprisingly good.
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 02-15-2019, 02:46 PM
Falselogic's Avatar
Falselogic Falselogic is offline
Threadcromantosaurus Rex
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Falselogic Sucks
Pronouns: they/they
Posts: 33,317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBanjoMike View Post
I've got one you can have, just gotta swing through Montreal on your way to Tennessee...

Speaking of high-fidelity classic gaming, or at least medium-fidelity, I finally got a set of S-Video cables for my SNES! And also GameCube I guess. They're a pretty cheap set, but I can definitely see a difference using them. Pixels are more clearly defined and colors are less swimmy than they were before. This is my original Super Nintendo from the 90s and it's been through a lot with me, so it feels good to treat it right.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeWell View Post
That seems out of the way, Mike. I'd say something about shipping it, but given the double whammy of normal shipping from Canada and the weight of the average CRT... I'll pass.

Also, yeah, s-video is often said to be the biggest step up in quality (SNES does do RGB, though the signal is still noisy). I'm on s-video for N64, because that's as good as it gets without a mod, and with the help of my Framemeister, it looks surprisingly good.
Don't y'all get together once a year? You could just hand it off then?
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 02-15-2019, 02:52 PM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

Putting a CRT on an airplane seems like a massive pain in the ass, but if Mike wants it gone that badly, I'll take it.
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 02-15-2019, 03:21 PM
MCBanjoMike's Avatar
MCBanjoMike MCBanjoMike is offline
Sudden chomper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 16,636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShakeWell View Post
Putting a CRT on an airplane seems like a massive pain in the ass, but if Mike wants it gone that badly, I'll take it.
I do not.
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 02-18-2019, 04:35 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
hidden in snow
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Up in the air
Posts: 3,162
Default

Iíve been considering getting an Apple IIe for a while, and a recent twitter thread went viral which is stoking the nostalgia fires. The CNN reposting of the thread was silly, like OMG this guy found a 30 year old computer and it works!!! Still, the pictures worked their magic on me, and I think my parents sold our IIe when we upgraded to a Performa 6300. Iíve tried emulators in the past, but they donít get that old CRT color bleed at all.

Anyone know a site to see going prices for old computers, or is scouring closed eBay auctions the way to go? Iíd want a IIe with a color monitor, and hopefully an SD to Floppy hardware emulator, if those exist. We had a monochrome monitor growing up at first, then found a computer shop that would sell color PC monitors with a cable adapter for Apples. My memory is that it was a color monitor with a hardware switch to simulate orange monochrome, in case you had software that didnít work/looked bad in color text, like word processors.

Edit: now that I think about it, would a MISTer and an old CRT accomplish the job? I donít know what monitor outputs the board supports, but it may be more useful than a dedicated computer.
Reply With Quote
  #310  
Old 02-18-2019, 06:54 PM
ArugulaZ's Avatar
ArugulaZ ArugulaZ is offline
Back to the Bear
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12,979
Default

Wow, you do NOT want to know what my brother did to the Apple IIe's my mother brought home for me ten years ago.

"Hey, you using these?"
"Eh, no."
"Me and my friend'll take 'em back to the woods then..."
BLAM BLAM BLAM BLAM

Anyway. There are Apple II clones that approximate the experience... the Laser and the Franklin to name two. I got a Franklin from a garage sale, oh... (counts on fingers) six years ago? It didn't cost much at all and I was excited about the purchase, but then I plugged it all in and it just wouldn't work properly.

The problem with a lot of this old hardware is that it often needs repair, and you need someone with sufficient engineering skills to do it. I've seen Dave "8-Bit Guy" Murray work wonders with this old equipment, reviving a lost cause VIC-20 apparently retrieved from an oil refinery, but he is REALLY good at this sort of thing. I guess the point I'm trying to make is that finding the computer may only be the first step in your journey toward reliving your youth. You may need to squeak by with emulation for the time being.

I do know that sites like AtariAge and Racketboy sell this kind of stuff, although perhaps not at the desired price point. I would suggest an elementary or high school, but I suspect all of their Apple IIs were flushed out a long time ago in rummage sales.
Reply With Quote
  #311  
Old 02-19-2019, 01:36 PM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John View Post
Edit: now that I think about it, would a MISTer and an old CRT accomplish the job? I donít know what monitor outputs the board supports, but it may be more useful than a dedicated computer.
The MiSTer does have an Apple ][ core and with the I/O board will do analogue output, so that is an option, for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 02-19-2019, 01:54 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
hidden in snow
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Up in the air
Posts: 3,162
Default

Thanks, it looks like the MiSTer core is for a II plus, which is similar but thereís some software incompatibilities. I donít have a vintage computer store within a couple hour radius, and Iím not in a rush. Iíll check out the vendor booths over at the Midwest Gaming Classic this year. Last time I went, I got a good deal on the NES Miracle Piano Keyboard in box, but I donít remember seeing much computer hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 02-19-2019, 07:07 PM
ArugulaZ's Avatar
ArugulaZ ArugulaZ is offline
Back to the Bear
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12,979
Default

So I got this weird monitor from Saint Vincent De Paul... it's an LCD display from 2011, yet it's exclusively designed for analog input, with VGA, BNC, and S-video jacks on the back. My best guess is that it's a successor to the PVMs that were designed for video production and security use... you know, the little CRT monitors that go for hundreds or even thousands of dollars on eBay because they work well with video game systems.

As it turns out, this monitor works pretty well with video games too. I connected it to my Saturn, and the quality of the display was pretty impressive, especially for S-video. On my Vizio television set, I'd get little dots of white noise around gray areas and in high contrast areas, but that's not a problem with this mystery monitor. Instead, it offers clean images like this...





The Saturn's resolution is pretty coarse so it doesn't need cutting edge AV like HDMI. Nevertheless, this is an impressive picture for S-video, close to pixel perfect. I've also included footage of Necronomicon, which uses a special high resolution mode, and that looks fine on this monitor as well... the pixels are smaller, of course, but they still seem sharp.

The model number of the monitor is M170CP2. I'd like to know who made it and why, because the design seems so... anachronistic. An LCD monitor with BNC ports? Really? Who even uses those? However, if it produces images like this, it could come from Mars and I'd still be happy with it.
Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 02-19-2019, 07:20 PM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,431
Default

Dang, I saw someone talking about a similar monitor over on Hardcore Retro Gaming, so that's the second time I've been tempted to try to find one of these. That looks really, really nice!
Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 02-19-2019, 08:32 PM
ArugulaZ's Avatar
ArugulaZ ArugulaZ is offline
Back to the Bear
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12,979
Default

You got a link to that discussion? I'd like to see what monitor they're using and how it compares to mine. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #316  
Old 02-20-2019, 12:16 PM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,431
Default

Yeah, we didn't hit on it long, but it also has a link to the monitor type. No BNC connectors, but S-Video and composite, which seems pretty crazy!

http://hardcoreretrogaming.boards.ne...-finds?page=37

https://www.cnet.com/products/dell-u...-2001fp/specs/

The fact that yours is from 2011 is really impressive.
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 02-20-2019, 01:58 PM
ArugulaZ's Avatar
ArugulaZ ArugulaZ is offline
Back to the Bear
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12,979
Default

It's really weird is what it is. It must have been designed as a niche product, because it's hard to imagine why a monitor would need two S-video ports in 2011. Not that I'm complaining... it's really handy for me at least. I'm going to throw a few more game systems at it when I get the chance... I'm eager to see how well it handles Game Boy Advance games through the Game Boy Player. They look like crap on just about every other display I've got, and I have plenty.
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 02-20-2019, 02:01 PM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,431
Default

Have you messed around with any input lag tests? I'd be really curious how things handle on that front as well. You're right, though, it's likely a niche product for things like security rooms and whatnot that still use BNC connectors. That's the only reason I can think of that you'd need it, and probably also the reason it still adheres to the 4:3 aspect ratio.
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 02-20-2019, 02:30 PM
Mightyblue's Avatar
Mightyblue Mightyblue is offline
Are You Sure About That?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I am a Mountain Man, in a mountain land
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Posts: 23,457
Default

Hmm, you guys might have luck in trying out office liquidation type places then to find more, as I'd be willing to bet that a lot of that kind of stuff basically gets sold at cost when businesses fold if not cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 02-20-2019, 03:59 PM
ArugulaZ's Avatar
ArugulaZ ArugulaZ is offline
Back to the Bear
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12,979
Default

Sarge: I don't have any specialized software for that, but I did try the monitor with my GameCube and the Game Boy Interface. If there was any lag in Super Mario Bros. 3, I didn't notice it... Mario's jumps seem as spritely as they've always been. The spec sheet claims this monitor and its 19 inch cousin have a response time of 5 milliseconds, so I don't think lag is ever going to be an issue with it.

I did notice some blurring when playing Super Mario 3, but it wasn't a problem with Mario Kart Double Dash, probably because 3D games tend to mask it well. Also, the colors seemed over-saturated in Super Mario 3, but the game was like that by design, to compensate for the dark screens of early Game Boy Advance systems.
Reply With Quote
  #321  
Old 02-20-2019, 05:04 PM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

EDIT: Nevermind, note to self: read the whole thread next time, dumbass.
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 02-20-2019, 06:16 PM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArugulaZ View Post
Sarge: I don't have any specialized software for that, but I did try the monitor with my GameCube and the Game Boy Interface. If there was any lag in Super Mario Bros. 3, I didn't notice it... Mario's jumps seem as spritely as they've always been. The spec sheet claims this monitor and its 19 inch cousin have a response time of 5 milliseconds, so I don't think lag is ever going to be an issue with it.

I did notice some blurring when playing Super Mario 3, but it wasn't a problem with Mario Kart Double Dash, probably because 3D games tend to mask it well. Also, the colors seemed over-saturated in Super Mario 3, but the game was like that by design, to compensate for the dark screens of early Game Boy Advance systems.
Do they have the 240p test suite on Gamecube? That has a sort of manual lag test, although it's nowhere near scientific. I wouldn't worry about it too much, though; if it feels okay, it's probably fine for everything outside of Mike Tyson's Punch-Out!!, which is my gold standard for whether there is actual lag there or not. Basically, I can go off of pure reaction time off of a CRT, and how badly I get tagged on another display and emulator tells me how bad it is overall. I can't play on a NES Classic, for example, nor can I use RetroArch on a modded SNES Classic. Between the display lag and emulation lag, it's just a bit too much to have any hope.

And then there are the folks that beat him blindfolded. Whee!
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 02-20-2019, 06:28 PM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

Yes, there is a GC version of 240p Test Suite, and you can run it from the same SD launcher you use for GBI.
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 02-20-2019, 07:02 PM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,431
Default

I really need one of those SD launchers. I just put the file on a memory card using a modded Wii, and use Twilight Princess as my boot disc. Not the prettiest solution ever, but it does work.
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 02-21-2019, 01:20 AM
ArugulaZ's Avatar
ArugulaZ ArugulaZ is offline
Back to the Bear
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12,979
Default

I started out using a memory card and a copy of Agent Under Fire, but man, do you realize just how little storage those cards have? I could barely squeeze the Game Boy Interface onto one of those things. Fortunately, I discovered later that the mod chip I thought I had improperly installed worked just fine... I just burned the discs wrong.

I hate to burn another disc just for a diagnostic tool, since the mini DVDs the Cube requires aren't that easy to find, but now that I have a larger memory card (1151, whoo!) I guess that wouldn't be necessary. Heck, maybe I could run the program on a Wii running Nintendont. Decisions, decisions!
Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 02-21-2019, 08:25 AM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4,431
Default

If you've got a Wii, you could just test using the Wii version of 240p Test Suite in that case. In fact, that test suite is on a lot of stuff. According to the site:

Sega Genesis (Mega Drive), Sega CD (Mega CD), Sega Dreamcast, PC Engine/Turbografx-16, Super Nintendo/Super Famicom (SNES/SFC), Sony Playstation, Nintendo Wii and Nintendo GameCube.

But yeah, those memory cards are tiny. I barely fit GBI on mine as well. It was a cheap third-party one I picked up that no longer gets used because I have two high-capacity ones.
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 03-04-2019, 10:20 AM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

I feel like other folks here have gscartsw units, right? It can do both CSYNC, sync-on-composite, and sync-on-luma, right? Most (maybe all?) of my cables are CSYNC, but is there a difference in how the switch handles them?
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 03-04-2019, 12:14 PM
Mr. Sensible's Avatar
Mr. Sensible Mr. Sensible is offline
Spear of Justice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VA/TN
Posts: 5,198
Default

I've got the gscartsw 3.4 and it handles sync-on-composite, sync-on-luma and csync. Can't imagine you'd have any issues with the later revisions either.
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 03-04-2019, 08:23 PM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

Dope. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 03-15-2019, 11:04 PM
ShakeWell's Avatar
ShakeWell ShakeWell is offline
Slammaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,814
Default

RetroGamingCables.co.uk currently has 20% off their PACKAPUNCH line with code RETRO20, if you're looking to upgrade some cables. I had to get a male-to-male SCART for my gscartsw anyways, so I decided to upgrade my shitty $10 eBay Saturn SCART to something with POWER.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hardware , retro games

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Your posts ©you, 2007