The Return of Talking Time

Go Back   The Return of Talking Time > Talking about media > Talking about television games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2016, 05:05 PM
Bongo's Avatar
Bongo Bongo is offline
oh my car
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado Land
Pronouns: he/him
Posts: 21,532
Default E3 Live Mock 2k016

E3 festivities begin on Sunday, June 12. And just like every year, we're going to be there to make fun of it!

In previous years, we've coordinated live-mocking events over IRC. This year we're using Discord instead. What the fuck is Discord? It's a modern chat program designed to work well with video games. It does voice and text. We'll be using the text part mainly, but the voice part is available for those who want to yell at Phil Spencer together. Don't worry about it.

This link, which will be good until I revoke it, will connect you to a Talking Time Discord server that I have created. You won't need to register an account - just enter a nick that you'd like to use.

(That said, if you already have an account, or want to register one, nothing will stop you.)

If you prefer to use the (very nice) Discord client, click the Join Server button and paste that link into the dialog. Clients exist for Windows, OSX, iOS, and Android; all others can use the web client.

You can just hang out there or whatever and it'll be fine, but in one week, all are invited to come and laugh at men in sport coats and jeans trying to sell video games. We'll coordinate events through the Discord interface.

To change your nickname or other server settings, click the menu next to where it says "Talking Time" in the upper left. To change the application settings, click the gear icon next to your name in the lower left.

Everyone connected to a server is automatically in every text channel; right-click on it to mute it. Below the text channels are the voice channels; you're not connected to those by default, and must specifically join one. Click the phone icon in the lower left to leave the voice channel you're currently in.




For archival purposes, the previous contents of this post are preserved below:

This post will eventually be edited to contain the needed information. For now it's being used to facilitate meta-discussion.

However, I'm thinking maybe our crusted old IRC channel doesn't present the best user interface for this sort of action, especially for those who don't use it regularly. I'm thinking we could set up something on Discord instead.

Pros:
  • easier to use
  • better interface overall
  • has an even more obvious web interface for those who ain't want to install something
  • has voice (optional) so we can hear each other groaning at Aisha Tyler
Cons:
  • you gotta register This is maybe not necessarily true. I'm looking into it now. If it is not, I'm going to say Fuck It, We're Using Discord.
  • only official clients work
  • different is weird

I think a week is enough time to reach a consensus on this, and then we'll proceed as usual.

Last edited by Bongo; 06-06-2016 at 09:00 PM. Reason: Whoops posted too soon trying to add tags
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2016, 05:31 PM
Lilfut's Avatar
Lilfut Lilfut is offline
Espurrs are proud.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,515
Default

You didn't HAVE to register to use Discord last I checked (at least through the web client), but I guess that's changed.

I definitely support it in any case
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2016, 05:33 PM
Bongo's Avatar
Bongo Bongo is offline
oh my car
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado Land
Pronouns: he/him
Posts: 21,532
Default

Actually, now that you mention it, I might be able to set up a server that permits guest uses. Something to do with the "instant invite" feature? I will look into it and run a test tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2016, 05:45 PM
Bongo's Avatar
Bongo Bongo is offline
oh my car
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado Land
Pronouns: he/him
Posts: 21,532
Default

Turns out you can configure a Discord server to permit guests. I'm running some tests right now. If you want to help and do not have a Discord account already, click on this bad boy in the next 25 minutes and share your opinions. Please note that link will expire. I'll try one that doesn't expire later.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2016, 05:47 PM
teg's Avatar
teg teg is offline
HP 50/150 █████▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: the Tim Hortons Capital of Canada
Pronouns: They/Them or She/Her
Posts: 9,997
Default

This spot reserved for making fun of some presenter drooling over a car on the stage.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2016, 06:01 PM
rogue's Avatar
rogue rogue is offline
Half-Ninja
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,429
Default

I've been using Discord to play Overwatch with my friends and I gotta say it's been pretty good.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2016, 06:14 PM
Bongo's Avatar
Bongo Bongo is offline
oh my car
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado Land
Pronouns: he/him
Posts: 21,532
Default

Fuck It, We're Using Discord.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2016, 06:23 PM
Bongo's Avatar
Bongo Bongo is offline
oh my car
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado Land
Pronouns: he/him
Posts: 21,532
Default

The original post has been updated with information. Ask questions if you got any. Take it for a spin if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2016, 08:15 PM
dosboot's Avatar
dosboot dosboot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,366
Default

My first thought was: Discord? But isn't that voice? Wouldn't that be crazy with so many people?

Maybe you should add something like "Yes, Virginia, Discord is also a text chat program." (or just mention the text part when you call it a modern chat program.)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-2016, 03:49 AM
Positronic Brain's Avatar
Positronic Brain Positronic Brain is offline
Out Of Warranty
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Pronouns: He/him
Posts: 9,394
Default

In case you're wondering when the conferences are:

Quote:
Originally Posted by vg247
EA – June 12, 1pm PST/4pm EST/9pm BST/10pm CET
Bethesda – June 12, 7pm PST/10pm EST/3am BST/4am CET
Xbox – June 13, 9:30am PST/12:30pm EST/5:30pm BST/6:30pm CET
PC Gaming Show – June 13, 11:30am PST/2:30pm EST/7:30pm BST/8:30pm CET
Ubisoft – June 13, 1pm PST/4pm EST/9pm BST/10pm CET
PlayStation – June 13, 6pm PST/9pm EST/2am BST/3am CET
Nintendo Treehouse: Live – June 14, 9am PT/12pm ET/5pm BST
This might be the last E3 we can mock The Last Guardian and Final Fantasy Versus XIII XV - let's make the most of it!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-07-2016, 04:27 AM
Moon Orbit's Avatar
Moon Orbit Moon Orbit is offline
just ignore my posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,806
Default

Can we also make fun of Aisha Tyler or was that removed when the rest of the OP was removed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2016, 05:02 AM
dosboot's Avatar
dosboot dosboot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,366
Default

People also may enjoy seeing the schedule in a handy timezone chart format:


(from neogaf)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2016, 05:19 AM
dosboot's Avatar
dosboot dosboot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,366
Default

Also double posting because apparently there is a Square-Enix/Deus Ex pre-show tomorrow!

where: https://www.twitch.tv/deusex, when: 11:30 EDT (again, see schedule chart for other timezones)

The only information is that it will be a "first look at our new projects and exclusive Deux Ex: Mankind Divided gameplay demo."

We probably shouldn't expect a full E3 pageant from this one, but those who want to participate in the group watch will have to get on it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-07-2016, 06:12 AM
Positronic Brain's Avatar
Positronic Brain Positronic Brain is offline
Out Of Warranty
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Pronouns: He/him
Posts: 9,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosboot View Post
Also double posting because apparently there is a Square-Enix/Deus Ex pre-show tomorrow!
Boooooh! I'll be at work.

I hope they have juicy details about games other than Deus Ex, particularly the juggernaut that you know it is in development and that everybody is waiting with bated breath.

I'm talking, of course, of Life Is Strange Season 2.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-07-2016, 06:20 AM
Moon Orbit's Avatar
Moon Orbit Moon Orbit is offline
just ignore my posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,806
Default

IF THEY DON'T ANNOUNCE A PORT OF THAT FUCKING KINGDOM HEARTS CELL PHONE GAME TO SOME OTHER PLATFORM

I WILL CRY IMPOTENTLY IN SQUARE ENIX'S DIRECTION
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-07-2016, 07:30 AM
teg's Avatar
teg teg is offline
HP 50/150 █████▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: the Tim Hortons Capital of Canada
Pronouns: They/Them or She/Her
Posts: 9,997
Default

It looks like I miraculously get the duration of the entire show off of work, so I guess I'll be watching it again this year.
I dunno about you guys, but I'll be watching it via Giant Bomb. I doubt we'll ever top John Vignocchi ruining Dave Lang's live live on-camera, but here's hoping.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon Orbit View Post
Can we also make fun of Aisha Tyler or was that removed when the rest of the OP was removed.
Aisha Tyler is wasted on the terrible material they give her at these shows, and the Ubi conference is always the worst one to get through. The Assassin's Creed cosplayer from last year who apparently wasn't told he was going to be doing a bit was the most fremdschämen-y thing I've ever seen.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-07-2016, 07:45 AM
Moon Orbit's Avatar
Moon Orbit Moon Orbit is offline
just ignore my posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,806
Default

I've never found the woman funny outside of her being an actress. As a comedic actress she's okay, but like... Her actual material just isn't funny.

Watch her on The Talk, her comedy is just so bad.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-07-2016, 07:58 AM
Zef's Avatar
Zef Zef is offline
Find Your Reason
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Vortex World
Posts: 30,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosboot View Post
People also may enjoy seeing the schedule in a handy timezone chart format:


(from neogaf)
Well, damn. I have a meeting tomorrow at 11:30 EST, and Sunday evening is, well, Sunday evening. It's usually downtime but I'll be out most of that time. I wonder why EA and Beth decided to present at those times.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-07-2016, 08:33 AM
McClain's Avatar
McClain McClain is offline
on a break
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta-ish
Pronouns: He him
Posts: 27,516
Default

For some reason I thought Nintendo was doing a Direct the day before the Treehouse Live thing. Was I just looking at last year's schedule?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-07-2016, 09:49 AM
Super Megaman X's Avatar
Super Megaman X Super Megaman X is offline
Outer Space Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pine City, MN
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon Orbit View Post
IF THEY DON'T ANNOUNCE A PORT OF THAT FUCKING KINGDOM HEARTS CELL PHONE GAME TO SOME OTHER PLATFORM

I WILL CRY IMPOTENTLY IN SQUARE ENIX'S DIRECTION
Technically, they did last year. It's the movie that's in Kingdom Hearts 2.8.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-07-2016, 11:48 AM
Bongo's Avatar
Bongo Bongo is offline
oh my car
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado Land
Pronouns: he/him
Posts: 21,532
Default

I am looking for one or more trusted individuals to help maintain the law on the Discord server. I don't know how necessary it'll be, or how much traffic we'll get, but it's better to be prepared. Apply soon: the Square Enix conference is tomorrow morning (I won't be around for it).
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-08-2016, 08:12 AM
Moon Orbit's Avatar
Moon Orbit Moon Orbit is offline
just ignore my posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,806
Default

Yo that square enix thing's happening in like 20 minutesssssss
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-08-2016, 09:31 AM
Zef's Avatar
Zef Zef is offline
Find Your Reason
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Vortex World
Posts: 30,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon Orbit View Post
Yo that square enix thing's happening in like 20 minutesssssss
Kingdom Hearts 0.2: Birth by Sleep–A Fragmentary Passage
Kingdom Hearts HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue
Kingdom Hearts χ Back Cover


https://youtu.be/fPoQw2J177c

I have no idea what the Kingdom Hearts franchise even IS at this point. I played only the PS2 games and know a little bit about the Unbirth one (I think that was for the PSP?) but I think it's safe to say they've lost all grip on what constitutes "narrative" in these games.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-08-2016, 10:32 AM
McClain's Avatar
McClain McClain is offline
on a break
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta-ish
Pronouns: He him
Posts: 27,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zef View Post
Kingdom Hearts 0.2: Birth by Sleep–A Fragmentary Passage
Kingdom Hearts HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue
Kingdom Hearts χ Back Cover


https://youtu.be/fPoQw2J177c

I have no idea what the Kingdom Hearts franchise even IS at this point. I played only the PS2 games and know a little bit about the Unbirth one (I think that was for the PSP?) but I think it's safe to say they've lost all grip on what constitutes "narrative" in these games.
I would have sworn you were making jokes with those titles before I clicked on the link. God dammiit, KH.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-08-2016, 10:48 AM
Destil's Avatar
Destil Destil is online now
Chaotic Good
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Pronouns: he / him
Posts: 22,425
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McClain View Post
I would have sworn you were making jokes with those titles before I clicked on the link. God dammiit, KH.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-08-2016, 12:10 PM
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is online now
of the Black Falcons
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Pronouns: he, him
Posts: 18,957
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McClain View Post
I would have sworn you were making jokes with those titles before I clicked on the link. God dammiit, KH.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-08-2016, 01:28 PM
McClain's Avatar
McClain McClain is offline
on a break
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta-ish
Pronouns: He him
Posts: 27,516
Default

Did SE announce anything other than KH games? Is there a link to the presentation archive or something?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-08-2016, 01:31 PM
Moon Orbit's Avatar
Moon Orbit Moon Orbit is offline
just ignore my posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,806
Default

They didn't announce KH games at all. This was a Deus Ex event that dosboot had somewhat bad info on. :P That KH game you linked to a trailer of was annoucned last year, dude.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-08-2016, 01:33 PM
Zef's Avatar
Zef Zef is offline
Find Your Reason
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Vortex World
Posts: 30,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moon Orbit View Post
They didn't announce KH games at all. This was a Deus Ex event that dosboot had somewhat bad info on. :P That KH game you linked to a trailer of was annoucned last year, dude.
That trailer was released today. And, continuing the trend, Squex made a bit of noise a few days ago about the new trailer's reveal. Since it coincided with the Deus Ex stuff, I believed it was part of Squex's E3 fusillade.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-08-2016, 01:36 PM
Moon Orbit's Avatar
Moon Orbit Moon Orbit is offline
just ignore my posts
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,806
Default

I didn't say the trailer was old, just that the game was not announced today.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
discord , e3 2016 , electronic three , live , mockery , trade shows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Your posts ©you, 2007