The Return of Talking Time

Go Back   The Return of Talking Time > Talking about other things > Talking about food

Old 07-10-2010, 10:46 AM
Shill for Big Cow DNA

Default Slow Cooker recipes that won't kill you

I am trying to get better about using our crockpot so we don't have to cook every night.

The thing is, I have no real experience with one of these, and the majority of highly rated recipes I can find seem to involve tons of cheese or cream sauce or something else heavy and gross. However, a healthy veggie one I tried was bland as hell. I've kind of stalled at this point since trying a new recipe involves lots of ingredients and makes a ton of food, and I don't like eating terrible food for days, especially if I've just spent a lot of money buying the ingredients for said terrible food.

Can anyone recommend some good not full of fat crockpot recipes? To give a better idea of what I'm thinking of, one really good soup I made was a combination of these two recipes.
Old 07-10-2010, 06:01 PM
Soybean Powder Expert

If it weren't for the hot weather, I'd be indulging a craving for minestrone right now.
  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 small carrots, diced
  • 2 ribs celery, diced
  • 2 small zucchini, ends trimmed, cubed
  • 15 oz. can kidney beans, rinsed and drained; mash half of them
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1-2 bay leaves
  • pepper
  • 1/4 c. flat leaf parsley, chopped
  • 28 oz. can whole tomatoes, mashed, with juice
  • 2 c. chicken broth
  • 5 leaves Swiss chard, chopped
  • 1/2 c. dry red wine
  • 1 c. elbow macaroni