The Return of Talking Time

Go Back   The Return of Talking Time > Talking about media > Talking about television games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1351  
Old 07-28-2017, 11:09 AM
StriderDL StriderDL is offline
Minnesota Nice
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,758
Default

I haven't been noticing anything, but other than Persona all I've been doing is going into the store and looking at all the things I cannot have.
Reply With Quote
  #1352  
Old 07-28-2017, 11:28 AM
MetManMas's Avatar
MetManMas MetManMas is offline
Come, noble knights!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18,545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Traumadore View Post
It could also be the cause of my problem where it's saying the drive has no room to install when there is ample space. Like it wouldn't let me install FFXII when I had 56gb open, and the install was only 41.
I don't really think 56GB available for a 41GB game is "ample space". Sounds like you need to clean out the fridge.
Reply With Quote
  #1353  
Old 07-28-2017, 11:49 AM
Traumadore's Avatar
Traumadore Traumadore is offline
An Animal of Joy
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,874
Default

It should have installed, is all I'm saying. I've also had problems with 1-2gb updates refusing to download until I cleared out 30+gb.
Reply With Quote
  #1354  
Old 07-28-2017, 12:04 PM
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
is Earnest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17,724
Default

On PS4, you need at least double the space of the game available in order to install it. So for an 41 GB game you would need 82 GB free.
Reply With Quote
  #1355  
Old 07-28-2017, 12:06 PM
Traumadore's Avatar
Traumadore Traumadore is offline
An Animal of Joy
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,874
Default

I know that's true of a download, but this was from a disk. Is it the same way?
Reply With Quote
  #1356  
Old 07-28-2017, 12:16 PM
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
is Earnest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17,724
Default

I've only run into that problem when trying to download a game. It seems like it should work when using a disk, but I'm not sure. Maybe call Sony customer support?
Reply With Quote
  #1357  
Old 07-28-2017, 12:46 PM
Sarge's Avatar
Sarge Sarge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3,275
Default

Could be that it always reserves a set amount of disk space as "scratch" space. Who knows, it might also need that space for copying/decompression of assets. I have no real idea of how much free space is required on the PS4, though.

I do need to think about adding some storage to mine, 500GB just isn't enough. I thankfully don't have that many digital games, but deleting games and their patches, especially when I have terrible Internet, sucks. I bring my console to work for updates.
Reply With Quote
  #1358  
Old 07-28-2017, 01:16 PM
Mightyblue's Avatar
Mightyblue Mightyblue is offline
Are You Sure About That?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Somewhere cold. And frosty.
Posts: 20,782
Default

Yes, that's the way decompressing files works; the compressed file is still on your HD at all times (until you delete it), it just decompresses into memory, which then writes the decompressed files onto the HD into their own directory. So properly installing things is going to require whatever space the uncompressed files will take up, plus the compressed archive's footprint, and whatever extra the devs allocate in the decompression to prevent people from filling their drives to the last gig.
Reply With Quote
  #1359  
Old 07-28-2017, 01:43 PM
four-so's Avatar
four-so four-so is offline
All are Mr. Saturn
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 2,791
Default

I replaced the drive in my PS4 Pro with a 2TB drive, so that could be part of the reason I don't see the issue. I still suspect PSN has been a bit screwy these past few days.
Reply With Quote
  #1360  
Old 07-29-2017, 01:53 PM
jovewolf's Avatar
jovewolf jovewolf is offline
Jinxed
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,938
Default

Nowadays USB drives also work for storage of games on PS4 if you don't feel like opening it up.

Sent from my E6853 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #1361  
Old 08-11-2017, 04:22 PM
Sami's Avatar
Sami Sami is offline
Obsession or passion?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarge View Post
I do need to think about adding some storage to mine, 500GB just isn't enough. I thankfully don't have that many digital games, but deleting games and their patches, especially when I have terrible Internet, sucks. I bring my console to work for updates.
Whoa, and here I thought carrying the Wii around to friends' houses and such was a hassle at times!

But yeah, that's the downside of PS4's always-install policy. If you've got a couple of big disc games installed, that's already 25 % of the usable space of a 500 GB hard drive on PS4. It just isn't enough.

And for that reason it's also kind of a bummer that hard drive tech seems to have stalled. I would have thought 10 TB drives would have been common by now based on the speed the drive size was increasing around 10 years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #1362  
Old 08-19-2017, 11:48 AM
Meditative_Zebra's Avatar
Meditative_Zebra Meditative_Zebra is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: University of Power-Ups
Posts: 5,773
Default

Found an interesting technical breakdown of Why PS4 Downloads Are So Slow with a possible workaround to increase your download speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #1363  
Old 08-19-2017, 12:32 PM
Kirin's Avatar
Kirin Kirin is offline
Not a Beer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 19,479
Default

Haha, wowwww, that seems like some really lazy programming on someone's part.

The TLDR for people who don't want to follow the link: manually closing any apps running in the background (long-press PS button, use "close applications" submenu) may dramatically speed up all current PSN downloads, for reasons that are pretty stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #1364  
Old 08-19-2017, 01:20 PM
four-so's Avatar
four-so four-so is offline
All are Mr. Saturn
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 2,791
Default

Yep, I do that all the time if it's something I really want to play. Basically, start the download, make sure everything is closed, go do something else for X minutes until it's finished.
Reply With Quote
  #1365  
Old 09-14-2017, 02:04 PM
Traumadore's Avatar
Traumadore Traumadore is offline
An Animal of Joy
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,874
Default

The system update this week now has my system saying that my drive actually only has a max capacity now of 388GB, and I checked just last weekend and it said the max capacity was over 440GB. It seems like it is being accurately reported now since I couldn't install anything before even when it said I was at 367/440. So now I know a huge portion of the drive is seemingly unusable, I guess I need to backup everything and re-initialize it? Maybe I'll just finally get a bigger drive. Super tired of deleting stuff every time I want to play something new.
Reply With Quote
  #1366  
Old 09-14-2017, 02:36 PM
four-so's Avatar
four-so four-so is offline
All are Mr. Saturn
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 2,791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Traumadore View Post
The system update this week now has my system saying that my drive actually only has a max capacity now of 388GB, and I checked just last weekend and it said the max capacity was over 440GB. It seems like it is being accurately reported now since I couldn't install anything before even when it said I was at 367/440. So now I know a huge portion of the drive is seemingly unusable, I guess I need to backup everything and re-initialize it? Maybe I'll just finally get a bigger drive. Super tired of deleting stuff every time I want to play something new.
350+ sounds accurate. There's a lot of OS overhead. 440GB of free space on what a presume is a 500GB drive is generous.

I buckled and ended up buying one of these for mine. Just pry open the casing and swap it out. You can download the PS4 OS install from Sony. Just need a USB flash drive.

The HDD is just a 2.5" SATA drive ("laptop" drive) so it should be pretty easy to find one that's relatively cheap; the reason I bought the external drive and just popped it open instead of just outright buying a 2.5" SATA drive is because I found the external on sale.
Reply With Quote
  #1367  
Old 09-14-2017, 03:16 PM
Kirin's Avatar
Kirin Kirin is offline
Not a Beer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 19,479
Default

Can't you just straight up add an external drive to it these days?
Reply With Quote
  #1368  
Old 09-14-2017, 04:36 PM
Traumadore's Avatar
Traumadore Traumadore is offline
An Animal of Joy
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by four-so View Post
350+ sounds accurate. There's a lot of OS overhead. 440GB of free space on what a presume is a 500GB drive is generous.
I used to have it nearly full to the 440 all the time before it started acting all weird and demanding like 100gb of space to install a 20gb game. I'm probably going to just get a new drive to put inside. I don't have room for a USB drive to be hanging out somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #1369  
Old 10-05-2017, 06:21 PM
Kirin's Avatar
Kirin Kirin is offline
Not a Beer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 19,479
Default

So I got around to installing the 5.0 (I think?) system update, which evidently updates a bunch of social features and whatnot, and immediately got a chat message sent last month from an account that look like a bot. Zero games and trophies, no public info on the account. Is... is this gonna be a thing even here? *sigh*
Reply With Quote
  #1370  
Old 10-05-2017, 06:26 PM
Octopus Prime's Avatar
Octopus Prime Octopus Prime is offline
Mystery Contraption
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 42,227
Default

Probably, but, luckily, you can disable communications from everyone you arenít already pals with. Which was the very first thing I did because those robots are terrible.

And I am firmly pro robot!
Reply With Quote
  #1371  
Old 10-05-2017, 07:35 PM
Zef's Avatar
Zef Zef is offline
Find Your Reason
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Vortex World
Posts: 27,841
Default

I'm hearing from a LOT of people that 5.0 is soft-bricking their system because Sony apparently forgot to code a "Terms & Conditions" acceptance button and they can't use their systems at all now. My PS4 has downloaded the update but I haven't applied it yet because of the above. Has anyone here had any issues with it?
Reply With Quote
  #1372  
Old 10-05-2017, 08:09 PM
four-so's Avatar
four-so four-so is offline
All are Mr. Saturn
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 2,791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zef View Post
I'm hearing from a LOT of people that 5.0 is soft-bricking their system because Sony apparently forgot to code a "Terms & Conditions" acceptance button and they can't use their systems at all now. My PS4 has downloaded the update but I haven't applied it yet because of the above. Has anyone here had any issues with it?
My son couldn't get online initially with his sub-account. The primary account holder has to accept the terms and conditions. It was easily solved by just logging into PSN on my computer and accepting it there. He was able to play games, just not connect to PSN.

My understanding is you can also have problems if the primary account has not declared a primary PS4.

But, to answer your question, no, not really. Minor issue for the boy but my stuff worked without issue when I logged on tonight.

Edit: My son has his own PS4. My understanding is that if I had accepted the terms and conditions on my PS4, his would have automagically worked. I just logged in on my computer because I've been busy it was an easier thing to do.
Reply With Quote
  #1373  
Old 10-05-2017, 08:15 PM
jpfriction's Avatar
jpfriction jpfriction is offline
Outraged!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Almost, but not quite, in ND
Posts: 3,231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Octopus Prime View Post
Probably, but, luckily, you can disable communications from everyone you arenít already pals with. Which was the very first thing I did because those robots are terrible.

And I am firmly pro robot!
Even with that enabled I was getting added to groups so bots could send me spam a few weeks ago. Apparently you can add anyone to a group and then message that whole group (of one person) even if you aren't pals?
Reply With Quote
  #1374  
Old 10-05-2017, 09:03 PM
Kirin's Avatar
Kirin Kirin is offline
Not a Beer
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 19,479
Default

Yeah, I think my bot may have actually been a "group" too. Sounds like an overlooked exploit in the privacy settings, so hopefully they'll fix it next update.

And also yeah, there are a ton of new parental control and family account abilities in this update, so I bet that's where some of other people's issues are coming from. I have a single account and my install went smoothly through accepting the T&C. (Actually I guess I still have a JP region sub-account but I haven't used it in years.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
399 us dollars , drop the mic , hardware , invisible console , octo does not do research , playstation , playstation 4 , second job machine , sony , terrible consoles , tt is bias

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Your posts ©you, 2007